Playlist of the Month: November ’16

Sorry for my absence from blogging recently, life has been really busy for me, and in fact, it is set to get even busier! 😮 I’m having more rehearsals for Hairspray! than ever, I recently entered a public speaking competition as the main speaker (and got through to the next stage, yay!) and I’m constantly busy. To top it all off, mock exam week is a mere few weeks away and I’ll have to invest my time in revision etc. I’m so sorry about this, and I hope you understand! Anyway, on with the post 🙂

Recently, I’ve been listening to music on Spotify, making playlists on there with a mixture of old and new songs, as per usual. I’m going to highlight my favourite songs of this month and why you should listen to them,

‘Doubt’ – Mary J Blige 

Screenshot 2016-11-23 at 20.14.23.png

I wouldn’t call myself a mega-fan of Mary J Blige in any way, but this song is brilliant! The first time I actually heard it was when Taylor Swift performed it at one of her concerts on The 1989 Tour. I only heard a short part of it because it was part of a live singing compilation of Taylor Swift. Immediately, I loved the sound and message of the song, so I looked up ‘Doubt – Taylor Swift’. What I soon found was the full-length music video of Taylor Swift at the Staples Center in LA, talking about how she was inspired by the song having heard it at one of Mary’s concerts in LA. She then started to sing, bringing Mary on stage for the second verse. What struck me was how awe-struck Taylor was by Mary – she is clearly a huge MJB fan. I then proceeded to look up the original – the vocals for which are amazing ❤ If you’ve ever had problems with self-belief and doubt, this song is definitely for you 🙂

‘God Only Knows’ – Michael Bublé (Beachboys Cover)

Surely, anyone and everyone has heard this hit by the Beachboys – it truly is an amazing song ❤ However, I was watching Children in Need and Michael Bublé was one of the live musicians. I am quite a big fan of Bublé’s music as he is extremely talented vocally 🙂 You could hear the emotion in his voice and watch it spill out as tears – it was extremely moving. I reminded me of all of the difficulty he is suffering right now, with his son having been  diagnosed with liver cancer 😦 I pray for their whole family and that little Noah will recover ❤ The song always makes me think about how much of an impact one person can have on your life – and how you should appreciate those people and treasure them. Never push away someone you love – because love is all that matters, in the end… ❤

‘Say You Won’t Let Go’ – James Arthur

The winner of the 2012 X-Factor, James Arthur, honestly has made a brilliant comeback. Having been absent from the music world for 2 years, he recently released this song which is currently at number 2 in the UK and #1 internationally! This actually means I’m listening to 3 songs in the UK top five (Say You Won’t Let Go, Shoutout to My Ex (#3) & Starboy (#5)! 😮 The message of the song is the most important part to me, (however, the instruments and vocals are excellent too!) because it teaches us that sometimes we need to take risks to get where we want in life. We can say that we will do everything right in a relationship, but at the end of the day, if we don’t make the leap, we can’t make something like that work. When we finally take that risk, we want to make sure that the other person is as willing as we are: to let them know that it’s okay to be afraid, because we are too. 

The other songs are:

  • Oceans – Coldplay
  • Mercy Mercy – Hillsong United
  • At The Cross (Love Ran Red) – Chris Tomlin
  • Shout Out To My Ex – Little Mix
  • Starboy – The Weeknd & Daft Punk
  • All We Know – The Chainsmokers
  • Falling Slowly (From ‘Once’) – Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova
  • Bonfire Heart – James Blunt

You can access my Spotify Playlist below:

I hope you enjoyed looking at what I’ve been listening to over the past month! :)What songs have you been enjoying this November? I hope I’ll be posting again soon!

xoxo

Hannah

11 thoughts on “Playlist of the Month: November ’16

  1. Following Him says:

    Hi Hannah! 😀

    Wow, you are quite busy! 😮 I’m glad to hear from you though. Good luck with Hairspray, public speaking, and the mock exams! 🙂

    Oh my goodness, Michael Bublé sang a Beach Boys song?! I’m have to hear to this; I love both of their music. 🙂 I think I have every one of Michael’s albums, he’s one of my favorite artists ever. 😄 I especially love his Christmas album. ♥

    P.S.: I nominated you for the Blogger Recognition Award here: https://followinghimbesidestillwaters.wordpress.com/2016/11/10/blogger-recognition-award/ No pressure to accept, but have fun if you do! (And no rush to post if you accept! ;D )

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hannah Grace 2001 says:

      Thank you so much! It means a lot having support, and I’m sure it will motivate me to be at my best 🙂 Michael Bublé is just amazing, and I can’t stress that enough! ❤ Soon I'll be listening to his Christmas album so much 🙂 Thank you so so much for the nomination, it means an awful lot 🙂 ❤ Hope you are doing well, and have the most wonderful of days! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

