No New Year Without You | An Original Poem

“No New Year Without You”

Three days have passed without a single word

Now three days closer to the end of term

I don’t want to leave the halls without saying a goodbye

But it might be too late for me to even get to try

Because you’re not there and I feel numb

Waiting impatiently, growing ever more dumb

This year cannot end without proper farewell

Without the ‘Merry Christmas’ I so long to tell

 

My Christmas spirit is starting to die

And there is but one reason why:

I need to talk, just one last time

I need to laugh so I won’t cry

So I can tell myself, indeed it’s true

There’s no ‘Happy New Year’ without you.

Hannah Galvin 2016

6 thoughts on “No New Year Without You | An Original Poem

Leave a Reply

