Room Decor + Mini Room Tour

Hello, all my lovely readers!

I have been slowly been working on perfecting the decor of my bedroom, as many other things in my life have been getting in the way of me finishing the project. However, it was truly thrilling to finally finish it today – I am SO pleased with how it turned out!! πŸ˜€ So, I’m finally going to show you all some photos and do a little room tour of some of the other elements of my room! ❀

I’m just going to briefly shout out to my good blogging friend, Laura aka SerendipiDIY! Some of her room decor posts inspired me in the decoration of my room. She is honestly my FAVE blogger as her posts always have such great content, writing and photographs. Please please please click on the link to her blog! She’s amazing and also the loveliest person! πŸ™‚

And now, on with the post…

15673470_1317769294961445_396735561_n

Door sign to my room

I made this sign for my bedroom a couple of years ago using some Sharpies ❀ Washi Tape and a piece of scrap cardboard! I love the texture of it, and it is still nice, so I keep it as an entrance sign to the safe haven that is my bedroom…

15666357_1317769288294779_349602550_n

Blackboard Heart Sign

On the other side, we have a blackboard heart sign that I decorated with coloured chalks! ❀ Β I just love the sign; it was given as a birthday present for my 15th. I only recently decided to change the chalk design, but it turned out so much better than expected, and so I kept it! πŸ™‚ By the way, I have a low-key addiction to chalk drawing. Over the summer holidays, my sister and I decorated the paving slabs in our front garden with loads of chalk drawings. The best part is that you can wash it off and start again! ❀

15645601_1317769264961448_346335458_n

Quote-in-a-heart and mosaic mirror

I am completely in love with this gorgeous mirror that my mum made! My mum used to do a lot of handmade mosaic projects, and one of them was this. It shows two seahorses and uses loads of gorgeous colours! ❀ Hung just above it is one of the many positive quotes that I have hung around my room. This one was given as a 15th birthday present and it says ‘Life is better when you’re laughing.’ I could not agree more! πŸ˜€

On the opposite wall is the BIG project that I have been working on for months! Ever since I got a gorgeous new single bed with pull-out to replace my bunk bed, I have been trying to perfect the back wall with lots of pictures, personal items and my bookcase. I will show you the finished product, and then some close-ups! I don’t think I’ve ever been more proud of my DIYs before, although this was fairly easy to do!

15645765_1317769241628117_1974057829_n

My bedroom wall, bed and bookcase

The first thing I’m going to comment on is my new bed! I absolutely love it! It is so comfy and I am in love with the beige leather-like headboard. It’s unlike any headboard I’ve ever seen but it completely suits my taste! πŸ™‚ I just complemented it with my vintage theme bed covers, ‘Love’ pillow and purple headphones ❀ There is now nothing better than lying on my comfy bed (the mattress is so soft!) editing blog posts!

15645324_1317769234961451_11877167_n

My bed

The next thing I’m going to talk about is my bookcase. I actually upgraded the size of my bookcase, and I love how it is made out of this gorgeous caramel coloured wood! ❀ On the top of it, I have a little display – my CD collection, lamp, fake flowers, my Headteacher’s Award for Outstanding Effort in School and a couple of other personal trinkets! Note the little F1 cars ❀

15673223_1317769238294784_2099486761_n

As for books: I have quite a lot of them! The shelves are absolutely stuffed, and of course, it takes me hours to arrange them because I am so particular about the alphabetical order (of the author) and also everything looking *just* right! I may be a perfectionist, but it is all worth it to see a beautifully arranged bookcase.

15328169_1317769258294782_1743462461_n

Right above the bookcase, we have my world map! I love this, I purchased it from a store called Flying Tiger Copenhagen in March. I think it only cost Β£3, which is crazy! As a traveller, maps are an essential decorative item for my wall, constantly reminding me of all the places I wish to go. I’m soon going to be adding pushpins of all the places I have been and want to go! Anyway, the store that stocks these is amazing and you guys should definitely shop there for some amazing gifts at low prices! πŸ˜€

 

15683557_1317769244961450_1753974251_n

My world map

Now, I’m going to talk about my favourite part of this whole project: the polaroid string lights and photo wall!

15683555_1317769228294785_922088685_n

I have always been obsessed with little polaroid photographs, but have never really seen purchasing a polaroid as a viable/affordable option. Luckily, an app on my phone allows me to transform all of my favourite memories into little polaroids with beautiful captions. Using the glossy photo paper (from Poundland) and my dad’s printer, I was able to produce 9 polaroids per page! I adore how they turned out and will definitely be printing more. This way is so affordable, and it means that I can select only the best pictures to be printed in this adorable miniature form! Using some string lights from Primark (yes, they are from Primark, but they are also very good!) and some gorgeous pegs, some pastel (from my sister) and some plain (from my best friend) I was able to hook the lights to the wall and peg all of the polaroids to the lights! It turned out absolutely stunning! ❀

 

15712914_1317769231628118_133254546_n

A close up of the polaroids

 

 

15645616_1317769254961449_1554160018_n

The polaroids and my memory wall

 

As you can probably all tell by now, I love the personal feel that a photograph brings. I also adore postcards, so I got some of my best pictures printed, purchased some gorgeous postcards from around the world and tacked them to my wall, like a memory wall! πŸ™‚ As it grew, bit by bit, I became more and more happy about how it looked! ❀ Β I’m just going to let the wall speak for itself, and just show you a photograph!

 

15683386_1317769248294783_1060965529_n

The memory wall

15683459_1317769251628116_1155377553_n

A collection of photographs, tickets and postcards on my memory wall

Next, I’m going to let you have a little look inside my chest of drawers…

15713160_1317769298294778_2010526143_n

As you can see, I keep a lot of valuable things in there, such as chocolate! I also keep my photo album, diary, notepads, cards, pegs and jewellery box inside. It’s very near my bed so that I can be close to all of these necessities!

And… the finale of my mini room tour is my bedside table. I fashioned my bedside table out of a tall wooden stool that we have had for quite a long time in my family. On top, I keep a white, plastic wicker-effect basket for all of my library books, my pencil pot (or should I say, Wheelie Bin Desk Tidy from Poundland πŸ˜‰ ) my alarm clock, my electronic mini photo frame and a little gold basket of goodies.

 

15666218_1317773554961019_348737202_n

My bedside table

I’m just going rave about a few items on my desk. Firstly, my electronic photo frame. I can upload pictures and music to this frame, and it plays them as a slideshow. It has a stand, but also a leather pouch that you can use as a wallet, so you can keep your memories with you. It’s so useful and cute, and I definitely suggest purchasing one, whether for yourself or a gift to another person.

 

15645581_1317773551627686_1071818140_n

My electronic photo frame

Next up, my basket of books. I have an obsession with baskets because I feel there is no better way to keep your room in check. I prefer to separate my library rentals from my own books for convenience, and also because I have very little room and have a tendency to take out a LOT of books at once. This type of basket can be bought at most homeware stores and comes in a variety of sizes.

 

15682930_1317773564961018_1048167291_n

The contents of my basket from above

My last rave is my Plum Blossom and Vanilla Candle. I LOVE Candles! ❀ So much. It was so lovely of my friend Myah to give me a candle, moreover one that smells so amazing! πŸ˜€ Candles are just so relaxing and look amazing and smell lush…

15644594_1317773558294352_1225331209_n-1

So, that brings us to the end of my mini room tour and decor! What was your favourite part of my DIY? Are you guys feeling inspired to decorate your rooms? Let me know what you think! πŸ™‚ ❀

xoxo

Hannah

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “Room Decor + Mini Room Tour

  1. SerendipiDIY says:

    I loved loved loved this so much Hannah!!!! Your bedroom looks stunning and I love how you displayed your polaroids and pics!
    P.S. Thank you so much for your kind words, you’re always so nice! 😘☺️

    Good job on the bedroom again, it was worth the wait!!! ❀️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. live_a_life_less_ordinary says:

    Looks nice!

    I’m a bit beyond the age of decorating rooms… but… I live by myself in a three bedroom house. For 3 1/2 years, I rented the master bedroom and second bathroom to two different roommates; I used the two small bedrooms as my bedroom and my office. After I decided I preferred living alone, I didn’t move back into the large bedroom; I kept it mostly empty, used as an overflow room when I had large groups of people over, with my old mattress in there in case someone needed to stay overnight.

    I have quite a collection of old video games and consoles from my childhood and teen years (the 80s and early 90s), and most of those were finding their way into the spare bedroom. About a year ago, I decorated it as a full-fledged retro gaming room. I put up posters of things from that era that my mom saved in the attic after my brother and I were too old for those kids of decorations, posters of things like the Ninja Turtles, Beavis and Butthead, early Simpsons, and various favorite athletes from my childhood. I had a bed loft that I used when I was a university student sharing a bedroom, and I set that back up for the guest mattress with more retro games underneath.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

