My New Year’s Resolutions for 2017

New Year's Resolutions for 2017.png

As 2016, arguably a difficult and controversial year for many, draws to a close, I’ve been considering all the ways I can improve myself in the new year. Granted, I may not achieve all of these, as there are many, but I figured it would be a good idea to have a lot of ideas, to thus motivate myself. For example, to cut out the distractions of social media, I’m focussing more on schedules, study time and using my time on more healthy and worthwhile activities, such as exercise and reading. I go on social media so much, and I hate myself for it. A video I watched recently called ‘Look Up’ made me decide for sure that I wanted to change and become less reliant on technology. Technology is a wonderful thing, granted, but too much and I begin to waste my time, doing things that are pointless and distracting myself from what is truly important.
Here is the video:

Whilst it is slightly ironic in its choice of format, like the ‘Get Off The Phone’ song by Rhett and Link, I still think the message is important, that we should try to reduce the amount of time we spend on technologyย and spend more on face-to-face interaction. I much prefer talking in real life to people anyway, although it’s not always possible.

I’m actually also going to share ย ‘Get Off The Phone’ by Rhett and Link just because I’m never going to stop plugging for them on my blog. No-one can stop me! ๐Ÿ˜‰ :p

I’ve actually done this social-media restriction before, having given up Facebook and Youtube for Lent this year. I felt much less reliant on it afterwards, but have since fallen back into the trap. I want to be super motivated in 2017ย because this year could potentially make or break my life (a tad dramatic, maybe we’ll say ‘sculpt’ my future). This is for numerous reasons:

  • I’m turning sixteen in January – this means more responsibility, and also this summer I’m on the hunt for a job. Going out into the world over the course of the next three years means I need all of the experience I can get in the workplace. I’m basically in that stage in-between adult and child. Still being a teen I guess!
  • I’m selecting what courses to take for A-Level. I need to take someย time to consider what it is I’m good at, and what I enjoy. It’s been tough for me, as I have a lot of options, with a lot of different people telling me what I should and shouldn’t do. I need to listen to myself for once and work it out. It helps to have two subjects out of four (or three, whichever works out in the end) already selected, those being Geography (which I plan to do to undergraduate level) and Maths. I also need to choose where to go to sixth form, although I’m almost 100% set on my current school.
  • My GCSEs are starting in May. I honestly can’t be fooling around, as I’m short on time as it is. I have a packed schedule (set to clear up in early Feb, luckily) and I need to use my time resourcefully. I’m going to give studies my all, even if it means neglecting my blog a little! Sorry ๐Ÿ˜ฆ But I’m predicted As and A*s so I truly have to be on top of my game. We’ll see with these mock exam results ๐Ÿ˜‰

So, as you can see, 2017 is going to be a crazy and chaotic year! ๐Ÿ™‚ Hopefully, it will all go to plan if I work hard, but approaching it in the correct way โค Here are my New Year’s Resolutions for 2017; I hope they inspire youย to write your own:

1. Aim for one-hour revision per day!ย I know that the earlier I start, the better! If I do an hour every single day, I should have time to go through each topic in thorough detail and then go over them again! I know I waste time being distracted, so if I get myself to do something useful, I will feel SO much better afterwards! ๐Ÿ™‚

2. Go to bed earlier! I spend so much time online just doing random things, and I really need to switch off the technology. As awake as I feel before I go to sleep, when I wake up in the morning, I seriously regret it all. Perhaps leaving my laptop and phone downstairs to charge will force me into either reading before bed (which doesn’t strain my eyes and keep me awake for the next half hour due to the lights on the display) or just wind down earlier. My aim is to minimise the (albeit slight) dark circles under my eyes, so I reduce my use of makeup to mask them! ๐Ÿ˜€

watches-928965_1920

3. Stop procrastination! I really need to stop putting off doing tasks, and so I’m going back to a tried and tested method: doing tasks as soon as I get them. It honestly makes me less stressed and means I have more time at the end to do what I want. I’m going to reinstall an extension on my laptop called StayFocusd (not a sponsor) that restricts the number of minutes I can spend on particular sites (Twitter, Facebook etc.) before blocking them after I surpass that time limit.

4. Practice exam technique and improve handwriting!ย The more I practise my technique using past papers, the more I will know about what examiners want me to write, as well as perfecting my timing. I’m not particularly happy with my handwriting, especially when I’m writing quickly like in exams, so I want to improve it to make it more legible.

writing-828911_1920

5. Get a job! This summer, I want to get a job because I would like to get as much experience in the workplace as possible, but also because it would be good to be making a little bit of money in the (long) time between me leaving Year 11 and entering sixth form. Hopefully, I’ll be able to get a job that I will be able to keep throughout the next two years or so, meaning that I become more independent, become able to repay my parents for all they have given me and start a university fund.

application-1883452_1920.jpg

6. Walk into exams feeling as close to 100% ready and prepared as I possibly can be!ย I don’t think there could, personally, be any living nightmare worse than for me to walk into my exams feeling completely unsure and unready. It would be like setting myself up for failure, and I know I have the potential to do really well in my exams. The best way for me to do this is to ensure I revise, but also to practise the same pre-exam rituals that I did for my mocks. I completely relaxed the night before a big exam, and it really helped to relieve tension. Knowing that I didn’t need to cram was such a help, and I think I may have performed better just by relaxing rather than stressing myself out over things that I may have little time to change. One more thing ย I’m going to do is pre-learning. If I just try to grasp the main concepts of some things before I learn them in lessonsย I can more easily understand the finer details.

7. Find a routine and stick to it!ย I am not necessarily a person of routine. But I think making schedules will help me to regain some control in what is going to be one of the most hectic and challenging years in my life so far. I’m going to have a specific blog day, with a blog schedule, and I’m also making a revision schedule to fit around all of the extra-curricular things in my life! If I keep sticking to the routine, soon it will be second nature and I will find time management a whole lot easier.

agenda-1928419_1920

8. Bigger focus on physical well-being!ย I am not a sporty person, and I doubt I ever will be, but I feel that using the treadmill in my house more, as well as taking up other sports, will make me feel like a happier, healthier and more energised person. I’ve recently started realising how much of a boost physical activity gives me, and I think that exercise will be a great way to show my body some self-love! When I enjoy sports and really try hard, I can feel a healthy glowing feeling, and I would like to experience this more often.

9. Love myself a little more!ย How I feel about myself and the love I show to myself has definitely improved over the past year, ย but there is still some way to go before I truly accept who I am, flaws and all.

2016-08-23_1323466490846355556

10. Take more chances…


 

Well, that was my list of New Year’s Resolutions for 2017! I hope you all have a wonderful and prosperous New Year! See you on the other side ๐Ÿ™‚

xoxo

Hannah

I just found out that this is my 50th post! How amazing that it should fall on New Year’s Eve! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ I love blogging more and more everyday, and I couldn’t do it without you guys! โค

*I sourced my pictures from Pixabay. They are royalty-free, and I do not own them*

 

36 thoughts on “My New Year’s Resolutions for 2017

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Your “find a routine and stick to it” is like my “get back to my schedule” resolution. And your “stop procrastinating” reminds me of my “stop wasting time.” Are you sure you’re not my grand daughter?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

