Mock Exam Results: What I Learnt

Hey, guys! I’ve not been blogging for ages – this is my first post of 2017! 😦 I feel awful about it, but I’ve been ill recently, had a lot of tests and coursework and rehearsals since I got back to school. Heck, I haven’t even had time to complete one book so far this year 😦 I’m aboutΒ 4 chapters into The Unexpected Everything! I’ve decided that my usual dayΒ for posting will be on a Friday, and if I want to blog any other time in the week I may do that too! I’m just drawing up a final timetable and hopefully, the blog will come together nicely with the little bit of time I’m going to put aside every other day or so to focus on my posts.

 

Anyway, to the topic of this post…

a-guide-to-mock-exam-week-1

Many of you will know that I took my Year 11 Mock Exams in December – it was a tough week and a half but I felt confident that I had done well in at least some subjects.

 

Screenshot 2017-01-13 at 21.59.22.png

Tweeting about my day ahead

 

Well, I got my mock exam results today! I was so so nervous (especially since they chose today, FRIDAY THE THIRTEENTH for my results) but also excited as I have been waiting a while for the results. It was nerve wracking queueing for the paper with my grades on it – I could feel myself bubbling over with a feeling of anticipation – was I about to get my dream grades, or was I going to be left disappointed?

Now, before I get to my actual grades (which I am not in any way trying to glorify or brag about, by the way) I want to talk about what I have learnt from my experiences today:

1. I am capable of getting the grades I want

Today was an affirmation to me that I can definitely get the high grades I want to get for my real GCSEs. I knew today that if I received grades that mirrored what I wanted to get in the actual GCSEs, then I would definitely be able to get what I wanted.

2. Mock Exam Results can be a reality check or a confidence boost

Let’s face it, not everyone can be delighted with the grades they get today. I know if I had been, it would have been the necessary reality check to push me into working above and beyond. However, what mock exam results gave to me was a confidence boost – a reassurance that I can and will reach my targets if I carry on working as hard as I do.

3. You can’t always judge how well you’ve done in your mocks before Results Day

More than once, I have walked out of exams feeling quite confident that I did well on a particular test, or the opposite – I walked out feeling so stressed and like I did not know anything. When I got the results, I found that I did better on the tests I got stressed out about and the ones I was confident in weren’t necessarily my best. So, no worries if you walk out feeling stressed about the exam you just took – you might well have done better than you thought.

4. Revision pays off big time

If I had not revised, my grades would definitely be much lower than they were. Mock exams are much easier to cope with if you at least feel prepared as possible. Also – what better preparation for the real thing?

5. But so does relaxationΒ before exams

I found mocks so much easier to handle when I revised well in advance and relaxed the night before a big exam. It helped to minimise stress and I believe it may have even contributed to my success.

And finally…

6. Don’t doubt yourself

I doubted myself so much before mocks, thinking I wouldn’t pass, or I wouldn’t reach my grade. I was (and still am, to some extent) terrified of letting people down. But I have learnt that I have to have faith that I am able to do as well as I want to. A little self-belief goes a long way. ❀


So, what did I get in my mock exams?

I could not be happier with the results that I got, especially since I quite easily passed everything – and I even managed to get an A in Chemistry! πŸ™‚ I know that I still have to work on my music terminology, but this has left me with the feeling that when I open my real results it will be a dream. πŸ˜€

I’m looking forward to next week – it’s my 16th birthday and I’m having a meal out to my favourite restaurant.

I hope you learnt something and that you have a lovely week!

xoxo

Hannah

35 thoughts on “Mock Exam Results: What I Learnt

  1. jakewatson1404 says:

    I really enjoyed this post, and I’ve just found your blog and I’m looking forward to reading more of your posts! I felt that I could relate to what you have to say as I am in Year 11 and currently revising for my GCSEs and more mocks next month. Jake πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. notsomoderngirl says:

    Congratulations! I know how nerve-racking getting results is. I’ve just finished my A-Level mock exams and, honestly, I think they all went awfully haha. I came out of the exams feeling stressed and awful, so your words of wisdom about that not necessarily being a bad thing have given me a confidence boost! Still not expecting much by way of my grades, however πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hannah Grace says:

      Hey πŸ™‚ Thank you so much! Music is going well, the majority for me is coursework, 80% of the final grade I believe. I’ve had to write two compositions which have been challenging but fun. I have also recorded a solo and an ensemble piece, which are worth double, so it’s great that I have scored highly with my singing for that! I believe that next year is going to be more performance based in Music (my sister too is choosing her GCSEs currently), so if you’re particularly good at an instrument and performing, I would recommend it! Plus the exam has got to be the most relaxing ever, you listen to music and answer questions on it and although that was my worst mock grade, I’m still pleased with the B :). RE is fab, I’m taking it for my A Levels next year (well, Philosophy and Ethics, which is basically very similar and the equivalent). It’s great if you want to consider lots of people’s opinions on moral issues, using a religious basis for these! I love it personally, because I become so much more tolerant to other views – and there are some great films you get to watch for the media sections! If you need any help, I think that this blog post (and blog in general, actually) could be useful to you in the coming weeks, months and years! https://fourteen2eighteen.wordpress.com/2017/02/20/gcse-options/ I hope you make a decision that you are happy with! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • All The Jazz says:

        Thank you so much, this all helped me tones!πŸ™‚ The only thing I’m worried about in Music is making the compositions. I’m not 100% if I’ll be good at that, but I know I’m fine for the performances and the listening exam. And as for RE, I love it too! I think it’s because I love History, and for both subjects you kind of have to think the same way.
        Thank you for the link to that blog, I’ll definitely check it out😊

        Liked by 1 person

        • Hannah Grace says:

          Ahh, you’re most welcome! πŸ™‚ Yeah, I was worried about compositions too, but hopefully with a good teacher you’ll be able to get some support. I mostly suggest getting to an instrument, making up a little tune and building it from there πŸ™‚ It can be amazing to see your piece grow into a full composition! I love History so much – I’m going to take that one next year too, and I definitely agree with you! You’re most welcome, I hope you find it useful πŸ™‚

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

