Rapid Fire Book Tag

I feel like I am constantly apologising for my lack of posts, but with studying it is just too hard to juggle this with everything in my life! 😦 I hope you understand, just to put it into context, I’m currently on Easter Break, but still attending school during some week days – I’m just that busy! 😦 Β But thanks for being there for me when I need you guys! Ann’s Reading Corner! I’m sure you all know who she is by now, but if not, go check out her blog because her content is amazing and she is super friendly!

Ebooks or Physical Books?

Definitely #teamphysical! I’ve said this before, but there is nothing like feeling the pages of the book, watching your progress being made and just being able to pick it up and hold it. That being said, I love the convenience of ebooks and do read them quite regularly too – plus you can get some really great reads for low prices, and sometimes even free

Paperbacks or Hardbacks?

So tough! The majority of my books are paperbacks, but I do love a good hardback from time to time. Hardbacks are hard wearing and long lasting – they are more of an ‘investment in something I treasure’ kind of book. Paperbacks are lighter and cheaper, so for the sake of the everyday usage, they are my go to. πŸ™‚

Online or In-Store Book Shopping?

I love bookstores. So much.

Trilogies or Series?

Hmm I love me a good trilogy – for me, the magic number when it comes to books is 3 – any more and I’ll almost certainly go mad (with an exception or two, such as Harry Potter <3)

Heroes or Villains?

I’m such a goody-goody – the hero, of course. Generally the hero is the one with some sort of conscience or moral high ground which is definitely something I push for in characters. However, not many books I read have villians and heroes in as such, just the average protagonist and antagonist.

A Book You Want Everyone to Read?

Read Pigeon English by Stephen Kelman.Β So much to be learnt from just one book.

Recommend an Underrated Book

From the Wreckage by Michele G Miller. I loved it so much I ended up writing a song about it. ❀

β€œIn a matter of minutes on a Friday night, I lost my school, my identity, the security of my first love, the personality of my sweet fearless brother, my best friend, my town, everything as I knew it. Everything changed.”

“Minutes – that’s all it takes to change your entire life. How do you deal with that?”

For high school senior Jules Blacklin surviving the storm is only the beginning. Faced with the new reality of her life, she must find a way to rise From The Wreckage and answer the question – how do you get back to normal, when everything that was normal is gone? – Goodreads Synopsis

The Last Book I Finished

Paper Planes and Other Things We Lost by Mindy Hayes and Michele G Miller! OH MY LORD is that book good! It’s basically a dual perspective from two teens called Brett and Ruby, who live on opposite sides of the US and are brought together when their respective parents die on Flight 397. They start writing letters to one another that start to mean more than they ever imagined they could. Meanwhile, they are trying to handle loss, their Senior Year, respective love interests and other problems. It’s set in early 1994, less than one year after the fatal crash.

I’ll tell you right now, this book is pure perfection! Just read it! πŸ˜€ ❀

Weirdest Thing You Have Used as a Bookmark?

I have used all sorts of things as bookmarks that I think that it’s actually insane! I think one of the weirdest ones is probably when I used a necklace to mark a page.

Used Books, Yes or No?

Definitely a resounding YES! I love going into charity shops and rescuing lots of books from there. You can look at them and see the pages worn by the love of a good reader

Top Three Favorite Genres?

  1. Contemporary
  2. Romance
  3. Dystopia/Fantasy

Borrow or Buy?

I see the perks of both. If I want to go and see if I will like an author for the first time and am unsure about a book, the library is my place. I love the library so much and would regularly go there and take out 4 or more books at a visit when I had the time! Sadly, I don’t visit as much 😦 I do love to buy certain books though, when I want to complete a series I love, or when it’s a difficult book to find, or a release by an impulse buy author. I see them both as good ways of supporting both authors and local libraries! ❀

Characters or Plot?

I cannot see a good book existing which is missing either of these two fundamental elements to a book. I think characters are probably my preference as I love to get inside their heads and explore them in depth, feel their emotions with them. A good plot is usually important too, but if I discover characters I love I find myself caring less about the plot points.

Long or Short Books?

The longer the better! I feel that short books often feel rushed towards the end, longer books allow for development of the characters and the plot, and I can savour the book more!

Long or Short Chapters?

Inbetween? As you can probably tell by now, my issue is that I can see anything side of all of these choices from both perspectives. Long chapters are really great for building the characters and story line, and shorter ones are better for impact. A book that uses a combination of these achieves maximum effect. That’s what I think anyway.

Name the First Three Books You Think Of

  1. Paper Planes and Other Things We Lost by Mindy Hayes and Michele G Miller
  2. Nerve by Jeanne Ryan
  3. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Books That Make You Laugh or Cry

Many books can make me laugh but not many books can actually reduce me to full-blown, teary, sobbing eyes. Sure, I might well up a bit, but one book that really hit my emotions, and I have used this book as an example SO many times, is Between the Lives by Jessica Shirvington. I have no words. Just read it – it’s freaking amazing in ways I can’t explain.

Our World or Fictional Worlds?

Our world. I can definitely relate to so many characters and sometimes I like to live in a little bubble when I’m in their lives, playing out the scenes and becoming the character. World building can be great when an author has great talent doing so, but the only place I can truly become one with the characters is on Earth.

Audiobooks, Yes or No?

I’ve only really dabbled in this form of reading and nothing more. I feel like audiobooks would be quite distracting for me – I think my internal voice reads things differently, imagine things to be certain ways which I think would be affected by the poetic license that the reader of the audiobook applies to their reading. I also love to listen to music whilst I read so I don’t feel like that would really work out for me.

Do You Ever Judge a Book By Its Cover?

I’m going to admit that I do. But only because an eye catching cover is one of the first things to entice me. The final judgement comes off of a book sample and blurb before I decide whether to read it or not, so I do consider all factors. And I’m not going to say that there aren’t great books that have unattractive covers, nor that there are rubbish books with gorgeous covers – it’s just one of those things.

Book to Movie or Book to TV Adaptations?

Ugh, I feel so conflicted about this whole question. I wouldn’t put an original book above anything. But, I’d probably have to say Book to Movie, purely because I have really enjoyed some Book to Movie adaptations rather than TV Adaptations overall, although there are some good classic TV Adaptations. I guess my only issue is whether these do justice to the book, stay true to the plot, whether it changes how I am able to envision the book when I read it, and whether the limited time allows for the plot to develop properly.

Series or Standalones?

I love a good series! Whilst I love a good standalone, many leave me dying to read more and that satisfaction just isn’t fully there. With a series things can further develop, wrap themselves into a perfect little bow and end the way we all want (again there are exceptions, for example, Allegiant!)

I Tag:

Amber – Cinder + Sage

Grace – Following Him Beside Still WatersΒ 

Kate – All the Trinkets

Sophie Samantha – Sophie Samantha

Tabi – Busy Bee Blog Web

Laura – SerendipiDIY

No obligation to do the tag, but I just wanted to highlight you lovely ladies’ blogs to my following as you are all amazing and so inspirational to me. All of you (and some others, who I do also appreciate) have been instrumental in welcoming me to the blogging community and I just wanted to thank you all ❀

And anyone else who wants to do the tag!

What did you think of my answers? Did you agree? Let me know in the comments below!

Hope you’re all having a lovely day, wherever you are ❀

xoxo

Hannah

16 thoughts on “Rapid Fire Book Tag

  1. Following Him says:

    I enjoyed reading this. πŸ™‚

    I’ve also used a necklace as a bookmark, by the way. Glad to know I’m not the only one who has done that. XD

    I didn’t realize that some ebooks are free until recently. πŸ˜€ Right now, one of the ones I want to read is free, and I hope to get it soon.

    Thanks for tagging me, this will be so fun to do! β™₯

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Inge | The Belgian Reviewer says:

    I did this tag last month and I have many answers same as you. I think we all suffer from some form of cover love ;-). I’m happy to see your recommendation for a good cry-book (I still missed the previous refs) because I’m always looking for books that can make me feel emotional ! Thx!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

